## DIVISION OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS DIVISION MEETING

November 2, 2004

**PRESENT:** EMS: Bruce Farris, Romeo Opichka, Brent Stafford

NUR: Nancy Cook, Linda Cowan, Gina Edwards, Carol

Heitkamper, Monica Holland, Rosemary Klepper, Connie Kuebeck, Susan Mann, Judy Martin, Judy

Ogans, Beverly Schaeffer, Debbie Myers, Terri Walker

OTA: Tom Kraft, Fonda Scott

<u>PTA</u>: Peggy Newman, Vicky Davidson <u>STAFF</u>: Dr. Jo Ann Cobble, Shelly Tevis,

<u>LIBRARIAN</u>: Linda Boatright

**ABSENT:** Harvey Conner, Mary Ann Gundlach, Lloyd Kingsbury

#### I. Celebration:

JoAnn introduced and welcomed Rosemary Klepper as the Nursing Program Director

- **II. College Holiday Luncheon** will be Thursday, December 9, 2004. Tickets will be \$6.50 and may be purchased through the Bursar's office beginning November 22, 2004.
- **III.** Oklahoma City Community College is planning to produce a video detailing upcoming construction and student success stories.

### IV. Outcomes Assessment

- a. FY '03 report Report has been submitted. Faculty should receive copies through your department's program director.
- b. Five year plans have been completed and will be submitted for review.
- V. Tuition Fee Waiver Procedure A newly developed procedure for tuition feewaivers was distributed. The new forms are in draft form so JoAnn encouraged any comments, concerns, or suggestions.
- VI. Strategic Planning FY '06 Stu Harvey, Director of Strategic Planning, has revised the way future strategic planning will be done. A handout was distributed that focused on three areas: 1) student success, 2) capacity-staffing, facilities, leadership, and 3) quality of instruction. Please forward any comments, questions, or suggestions to your Program Director.
- **VII. December Division Meeting:** JoAnn asked for preferences or ideas. The group voted a pot-luck dinner be held at the next division meeting in observation of the

upcoming holidays. A sign up sheet will be placed on JoAnn's door. Please come by and sign up for whatever dish you wish to bring.

### **VIII.** Committee Reports

### A. Academic Outcome Assessment Committee – Romeo Opichka:

The committee is currently developing a statement that defines the Academic Outcome Assessment Committee and its mission. Martha George gave an overview on WOW courses offered. 2005 Assessment brainstorming tabled until next meeting.

## B. President's Advisory Committee – Connie Kuebeck:

Connie reported the renovation and resurfacing of the pool has been completed and normal recreation/pool related activities have been resumed. As always, please forward your concerns to Connie and she will present them at the next committee meeting.

## **C.** Curriculum Committee – Carol Heitkamper:

The committee reviewed a proposal for changing math prerequisites for Algebra.

### D. Faculty Association – Vicky Davidson

Thish Bilcik suggested rubber mats be installed in classrooms to assist those instructors who have back problems. Sue Hinton tabled a motion to increase adjunct pay. This will be discussed at December's meeting

#### E. Faculty Development Committee – Beverly Schaeffer:

Group was asked for their input regarding the CLT which will be in the new SEM Center. Their suggestions will be submitted to the architect for consideration.

### F. Student Retention Committee – Judy Ogans:

The committee is working on strategies to improve retention rates with students from different cultures.

#### G. Campus Search Committee – JoAnn Cobble:

Currently the committee is interviewing for a new Director of Security.

# IX. As May Occur

- November 22<sup>nd</sup> is the close date for accepting applications for the new nursing faculty position.
- Linda Boatwright distributed a handout regarding copyright laws and online links which faculty are encouraged to use regarding laws.
- Enrollment Entrance Task force The Task Force is looking at options for streamlining the enrollment process. Discussions have included canceling deregistration and changing the start date for late enrollment.

Meeting adjourned @ 1:25p.m.

Next meeting will be December 7<sup>th</sup> at 12:30p.m.

Respectfully submitted by: Shelly Tevis